S.G. Tasz

S.G Tasz was born in Minneapolis, MN. While some would say she lived there her whole life, she would say she simply waited in stasis between trips to her spiritual home of Las Vegas (yes, even when she was a kid). She attended Lawrence University near Green Bay, Wisconsin where she graduated with honors for her dystopic fantasy Disparnasia: Short Stories from a Dismal Future, then spent several years in the tech industry breaking software and drafting user manuals by day while writing web videos by night, including the limited series The Bod Squad (2011) and Chic (2013).

In 2019, she finally realized her dream of moving to Las Vegas where she now writes the ongoing comedy-horror novella series Dead Mawl. E-books 1-3 and the paperback omnibus are now available on Amazon. She is also working on a paranormal comedy novel set in Las Vegas about a Men in Black-type organization for ghosts, an excerpt from which was a top selection in the Writers Bloc 9 anthology. She is a proud member of the Loft Literary Center (Minneapolis) and the Henderson and Sin City Writers Groups (Las Vegas).

Read S.G.'s Books


The service industry can be a nightmare.

Sixteen-year-old Cari Hembert expects an uneventful last day behind the register in the nearly abandoned Edensgate Shopping Center. But when she and her best friend Rex find themselves accidentally locked in overnight, they discover a force invading this “dead mall” that is far more horrifying than the decline of brick-and mortar-retail. They’ve survived bad bosses and minimum wage. But will they survive the night shift? “Welcome to Halcyon” is the first book in the Dead Mawl novella series for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Supernatural, and Ash vs Evil Dead.


Cashier-turned-monster-masher Cari Hembert has a lot to learn about the evil entities that reside in the Edensgate Shopping Center. Some of them are stupid lumps of flesh that can be taken down by brute force, but others aren’t  so easy—a fact Cari learns when she and a coworker are sucked into a waking nightmare by a devilishly charming host. Trapped and weaponless, Cari must find another way to escape his enticements—or lose herself forever.


Cari Hembert is on top of the world. Thanks to her new job, she has earned her mother’s grudging respect for the first time in her life. However, assisting Rex in munitions isn’t going to cut it in the long term, according to her boss. She needs to step up, or step out. But when a vengeful witch seizes control of Edensgate, Cari isn’t the only one facing termination. With the fate of the mall hanging in the balance, she must face their most powerful enemy yet—and this time, she will have to do it alone.


The Edensgate Shopping Center is a dead mall. It has no stores, no customers, no signs of life.And then night falls.Join Cari and Rex, Cooper and Grace, and the rest of the Virgil Security and Maintenance team as they battle their way through the first three installments of the Dead Mawl series. From an army of mud monsters to an infestation of epic proportions, The First Shift omnibus includes updated texts of “Welcome to Halcyon,” “Veiled Threats,” and “The Long Moon” plus an all-new story by series author S.G. Tasz and character art by cover illustrator Joseph Reedy.

Suggestion Box

If you have ideas on how to make the site better, suggestions for things that you think would be helpful to the group or want to offer a discount to our authors, please Email Us.

Please Note
Have a question? 

Visit our FAQ page for the most common questions by members and friends of the tour. If you're still puzzled, drop us a line.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

© 2019 Coffee House Tours. All rights reserved.